top of page

Cancelling Cancers #MakeItPossibleRun2019

CAS learning outcomes

  • Recognise and consider the ethics of choices and actions

  • Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

 

The cancelling cancer’s Make It Possible Run took place on November 10th. This is an activity initiated by students all around Bangkok as a way to raise funds for the development and research of immunotherapy in thailand. I really loved being able to participate in this fun run because I like to do things that improve my physical health and wellbeing, such as going to the gym or going for a walk in the park. And moreover, by doing this activity I also helped raise funds for cancer and immunotherapy research in Thailand, which I learnt that is in need of funding.


After attending this event I got inspired by the work of the students who have organized it and I brainstormed several ideas, involving physical activities supporting a good cause, that could help me raise funds for the clubs that I’m currently involved in at school. But after collaborating with other members of the club I realized that planning an event is not simply just brainstorming, there are many more aspects to consider regarding how the event might disrupt others as well as other ethical concerns. For example, water distribution in plastic cups during a fun run may lead to littering and plastic pollution. Therefore I reflected that small decisions in planning out an event can have devastating consequences, even if the event is for a good cause and to raise funds, so it is important to always keep in mind that we must be responsible for the consequences of our actions and to do our best to keep ethical concerns in mind.




Σχόλια


bottom of page