top of page

Doctor Shadowing at Ramathibodi Hospital

Cas Outcomes

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

7: Recognise and consider the ethics of choices and actions

Shadowing doctors at Ramathibodi hospital in the Urology Surgery Department and Pediatrics has given me an insight into the responsibilities associated with being a doctor. I had the opportunity to observe a wide variety of cases from child abuse consultations to kidney transplants. I also attended a conference with other urology residents, discussing recent research papers done on cancer in Southeast Asia, which allowed me to recognize the importance of being a life-long learner in medicine. During this experience, I was constantly intrigued by every case presented, no matter how routine it may seem I was always interested to learn more.

It was when I truly realized that this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. I wanted to be a doctor.

I understand that being a doctor is not simply about treating a patient’s physical condition but also to emotionally be there for the patient as a compassionate person. In this experience, I tried my best to make patients comfortable by having a simple conversation with them before their surgeries. I learnt the importance of having good bedside manners as a doctor, as it can greatly reduce the patient’s anxiety and help them feel more at ease. This further made me aware that as a doctor I will be sure to not only be professionally competent, but to also be patient centered and provide reassurance to those who are in need of help.

Comments


bottom of page