top of page

International Day - Club Booths



International day is an annual event in Wells International School that celebrates the diversity in the cultures of students and teachers. This directly aligns with one of the ESLRs of the school - global citizenship. This means that students are open minded in the sense that all cultures and backgrounds are appreciated and recognized. On this day multiple clubs that I am involved in, including LOL (love ocean life), Greenhawks, Serwis, and Paws held booths to raise awareness and funds for issues that each club was tackling. I helped organize activities for the booths as well as volunteered to be at the booth during the events for all the clubs that I am involved in. For the Love Ocean Life club, I initiated a fun activity that teaches children about the issue of high amounts of plastic waste in oceans through a fun fishing game. I helped sell club merchandise for the Greenhawks club so that the money can be used for making the school a more environmental friendly place. I also volunteered for a shift in my class booth (Class of 2021) to teach others about the many important people around the world who have united to make the world a better place. This directly relates to the theme for this year’s international day: united and connected. This event helped develop my leadership skills and my ability to initiate a CAS experience by implementing my ideas of raising funds through clubs. Moreover this event also helped me take more action locally about the global issues that each club was trying to solve, such as damaged ecosystems or plastic waste, and also allowed me to have a service opportunity to help others in need.

 

CAS learning outcomes

Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience

Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance

Comments


bottom of page