top of page

Internship at Biomedical Clinic

As a result of wanting to help out in the field of healthcare from an early age, I volunteered to be an intern at Medconsult Clinic and help out with everything that I could. During this time I helped out with a large range of jobs, from using my organizational skills to categorize the medicine cabinet, making it easier for doctors and nurses to locate required items, to greeting and registering incoming patients.


From this experience I learnt communicational skills and ethical responsibility in patient discretion, since some patients may prefer not to reveal their cosmetologic reasons for visiting the clinic in front of others in a public space. After learning this I was sure to reflect on my actions and adapt the way in which I ask incoming patients their reason for visiting the doctor. I further developed my skills of providing care based on empathy and respect.


I also learnt to be competent in interacting with patients from different cultures, since this was an international clinic which had patients from diverse cultural backgrounds.

Moreover, I was able to practice my problem solving skills on the job, since I had to balance the task of managing all my duties, ensuring patient comfort in the waiting room when some cases were taking longer than expected, as well as combat any unexpected events that may occur. This experience greatly enhanced my critical thinking and problem solving skills under stressful conditions.


Another skill which I got to practice during my internship was using my technological competency for healthcare purposes. I created posters and infographics on the benefits of vaccination for the clinic’s media, with the purpose to inform and persuade patients to get vaccinated and boost their immune system. In my opinion, I believe that technological competency is a skill that will help make me a better doctor in this future world of advancing medical developments.



Commentaires


bottom of page