top of page

ServICE Conference @ ICS

CAS learning outcomes

  • Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively

  • Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance

  • Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience

  • Recognise and consider the ethics of choices and actions

 

The servICE conference was a three day conference filled with fun activities and learning opportunities that inspired, as well as empowered me to push past my limits to create a positive change in the community. This conference also gave me the chance to connect with other students in International Schools that are focused on the same goals of combatting the global issues of the world.


In the first day of the conference students were divided into groups and went on BYB trips. My group went to a Christian foundation known as House of Blessings, and they provided children whose parents were in detention centres and were unable to take care of them a safe learning environment to help the children break the poverty cycle and grow up to be responsible citizens. This orphanage also provided second opportunities for teenagers who may have committed crimes in the past and are looking to change their lives. Me and my group helped teach the younger children English through fun activities such as songs and colouring tasks.


What really stood out to me the most was that the children came running with smiles on their faces to give me a hug, before I even introduced myself. This shows that poverty is having a huge effect on the health of children, since children require affection and nourishment from their parents at a young age when their brains are developing, but these children do not receive all the positive relationships they need. Moreover, when visitors come to visit the children for a short period of time it may cause the children to develop attachment and trust issues, as the visitors do not always return. I think it would be more beneficial to help the children for an extended period of time rather than visiting for a couple of hours. This was what inspired me to start a project of my own to help people in poverty in my community.

Comments


bottom of page