top of page

Yoga @ Home

During the COVID-19 self isolation time, I wanted to do something that helps maintain my physical health as well as something that would allow me to spend more quality time with my family since we were a bit exasperated with each other after being stuck together in the same space for over a month. So I decided to try something new- Yoga. My fitness teacher, Ms.Danielle, put up a yoga instructional video for us to do as part of our classwork, so I decided to try it out with my family and I ended up loving it.


By doing yoga we were able to spend more time with each other as a family in a good way. It was quite challenging at first since I was new to yoga and I could not even balance on one leg for longer than 3 seconds, but slowly with a lot of practice I have learnt new skills and I am able to do several yoga poses and I also have increased flexibility and balance. This would not have been possible without the help of my family members since they are the ones that have motivated me to keep on going and practicing even when I was absolutely terrible at it. I reflected that anything is possible, if I put my mind to it, because I now can say from experience that I was terrible at yoga in the beginning of the year, but now after 5 months of constant practice yoga has now developed to become an area of strength for me.


CAS learning outcomes

  • Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

  • Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

Comments


bottom of page