top of page

Youth For SDGs

CAS learning outcomes

  • Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

  • Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance

 
 

Youth for SDGs was a 2-day event that focused on the 17 sustainable development goals developed by the United Nations. During this event, students were given a chance to explore different themes related to the SDGs by having discussions and participating in games. The main challenge of this event was that every team of students were presented with a case challenge about the problems in sustainable agriculture in Thailand , and the objective was to propose a solution while keeping in mind the SDGs. This task was very challenging for me because I had to come up with an effective solution in only two hours while brainstorming in a highly stressful environment. I worked very hard to make sure that my solution was sustainable and respectful of all environmental and ethical concerns. I also used collaboration with my team members to my advantage by brainstorming ideas and thinking of the implications of my solution. This was when I realized that collaboration is an area of advantage for me, however I also reflected that I could further improve my skill of thinking of creative solutions to global issues by finding a way to implement them and make them more realistic. Overall this was a really great experience that made me more aware of global issues as well as helped take my critical thinking and problem solving skills to the next level.

Comments


bottom of page